About My Writing Life

I’ve written a short story for fun here and there and have written all sorts of professional, business things — along with speeches and sermons –but this series is my first attempt at actual novels.

I began about a year back and thought to be ready in time for GenCon in Illinois and then, having failed to get a table at Gencon, by the time of the Grand Rapids comic Con here in Michigan.  I’ve put down around 75,000 words in that time and have written and rewritten them to the point where I decided to start anew. Don’t get me wrong, much of what I have written is still usable and will be used but I have learned a lot about writing as I have written and that is what has moved me to reformulate.

The first thing I learned during this past year about writing is that it is hard.  Oh my gosh, so hard.  I cannot describe the battle between procrastination, perfectionism, self-doubt, competing pressures and trying to bring into being  a creative work while almost simultaneously analyzing it logically and critically — it really is mind numbing.

My second revelation is that you do get better at it, even when you think you aren’t. Like learning a language, there comes a point where suddenly those words actually start to hold meaning when you speak them.  Instead of just following rules of grammar and memorizing vocabulary, you begin to think in them.  It does NOT happen all at once or “really, really fast”.  It is a slow and steady progress.  The more you do, the more you learn.  The point I am at now is being able to realize that I am actually learning and that has provided my greatest motivation to write.  What started as simply, “I’m ‘a gonna do this!” has progressed to, “Hey, I think I actually can do this.”.  I definitely still have a lot to learn but I am miles  ahead of where I began

And the place I have just genuinely reached is the one where I feel like I am missing something if I don’t write and think and drink and breath my story nearly every waking moment.

And that brings me back to where I am today: steady , constant, slow progress.

Some of the best help I have gotten has come from other people.  A gentleman named Robert Means in Connecticut took n interest in my story they day I went to pull it down from Scribophile.  My wife actually believed I should write and offered to help (instead of thinking I was just having a midlife crisis).  Throw in  a handful of passing people who liked the story idea and it all begins to feel like you are really working at something rather than jut running an exercise in your head.

As a life-long science fiction addict, it’s all I want to write (sorry romance readers) and it’s what I feel most passionate about.  The Exitus Caeli series covers things ranging from M-theory to cutting edge physical and biological science.  It deals with  questions like, “Where are all the aliens?”, “Why are Bigfoot and UFO pictures always so blurry?  Are ghosts real?.

The stories are not “supernatural tales”.  They are science based (with science fiction as needed) character stories.  They happen to center around alien protagonists but each story is intimately tied to mankind and human individuals.

Stick around as I’ll be sharing more and thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

